American Patents LLC v. Analog Devices, Inc. et al

Western District of Texas, txwd-6:2018-cv-00356

Joint MOTION to Stay Joint Motion to Stay All Deadlines and Notice of Settlement by American Patents LLC.

Interested in this case?

Current View

Full Text

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS WACO DIVISION AMERICAN PATENTS LLC, CIVIL ACTION NO. 6:18-cv-356-ADA Plaintiff, v. JURY TRIAL DEMANDED ANALOG DEVICES, INC., et al., Defendants. JOINT MOTION TO STAY ALL DEADLINES AND NOTICE OF SETTLEMENT Defendants Analog Devices, Inc., Marvell International, Ltd., Marvell Technology Group Ltd., MediaTek Inc., MediaTek USA Inc., Qualcomm Incorporated, and Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. (collectively "Defendants"), and Plaintiff American Patents LLC ("American") hereby submit this Joint Motion To Stay All Deadlines and Notice of Settlement and respectfully show the Court as follows: (1) A settlement in principle has been reached resolving all matters in controversy between the parties in the above-referenced action and appropriate settlement papers are being finalized. (2) Accordingly, Defendants and American submit that the Court's resources would best be served by a stay of all unreached deadlines for a period of thirty (30) days so that the announced settlement in principle may be completed and appropriate dismissal papers thereafter filed with the Court. WHEREFORE, Defendants and American request the Court grant this Joint Motion To Stay All Deadlines and Notice of Settlement and enter an Order granting a temporary stay of all upcoming deadlines for a period of thirty (30) days. 1 Dated: November 15, 2019 Respectfully submitted, /s/ Larry D. Thompson, Jr. /s/ Kevin P. Anderson Matthew J. Antonelli Gilbert A. Greene Texas Bar No. 24068432 State Bar No. 24045976 matt@ahtlawfirm.com Pierre J. Hubert Zachariah S. Harrington State Bar No. 24002317 Texas Bar No. 24057886 Jun Zheng zac@ahtlawfirm.com State Bar No. 24102681 Larry D. Thompson, Jr. DUANE MORRIS LLP Texas Bar No. 24051428 900 S. Capital of Texas Highway larry@ahtlawfirm.com Suite 300 Christopher Ryan Pinckney Austin, Texas 78746 Texas Bar No. 24067819 Tel: (512) 277-2300 ryan@ahtlawfirm.com Fax: (512) 277-2301 BGreene@duanemorris.com ANTONELLI, HARRINGTON PJHubert@duanemorris.com & THOMPSON LLP JZheng@duanemorris.com 4306 Yoakum Blvd., Ste. 450 Houston, TX 77006 Kevin P. Anderson (Pro Hac Vice) (713) 581-3000 DUANE MORRIS LLP 505 9th Street, N.W., Suite 1000 Stafford Davis Washington, DC 20004-2166 State Bar No. 24054605 Tel: (202) 776-7800 sdavis@stafforddavisfirm.com Fax: (202) 776-7801 Catherine Bartles KPAnderson@duanemorris.com Texas Bar No. 24104849 cbartles@stafforddavisfirm.com Tyler T. VanHoutan THE STAFFORD DAVIS FIRM Texas Bar No. 24033290 The People's Petroleum Building MCGUIREWOODS LLP 102 North College Avenue, 13th Floor 600 Travis St., Suite 7500 Tyler, Texas 75702 Houston, TX 77002 (903) 593-7000 (713) 571-9191 (903) 705-7369 fax (713) 571-9652 (Fax) tvanhoutan@mcguirewoods.com Attorneys for American Patents LLC eschlichter@mcguirewoods.com Rebecca Levinson (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) MCGUIREWOODS LLP 2001 K Street N.W., Suite 400 Washington, DC 20006 (202) 828-2816 (202) 828-3322 (Fax) rlevinson@mcguirewoods.com 2 Jonah D. Mitchell (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Doyle B. Johnson (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Osman Mohammed (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) REED SMITH LLP 101 2nd St., Suite 1800 San Francisco, CA 94105 (415) 543-8700 (415) 391-8269 (Fax) jmitchell@reedsmith.com dbjohnson@reedsmith.com omohammed@reedsmith.com R. Jeffrey Layne Texas Bar No. 00791083 Megan Alter Hudgeons Texas Bar No. 24001645 REED SMITH LLP 111 Congress Ave., Suite 400 Austin, TX 78701 (512) 563-1816 (512) 623-1802 (Fax) mhudgeons@reedsmith.com jlayne@reedsmith.com Attorneys for Defendants 3 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE The undersigned hereby certifies that all counsel of record who are deemed to have consented to electronic service are being served with a copy of this document via the Court's CM/ECF system on November 15, 2019. /s/ Larry D. Thompson, Jr. Larry D. Thompson, Jr. 4