American Patents LLC v. Mediatek, Inc. et al

Western District of Texas, txwd-6:2018-cv-00339

Joint MOTION for Extension of Time to File Responsive Claim Construction Briefs by Broadcom Corporation, Broadcom PTE. Ltd., MediaTek USA Inc., MediaTek, Inc., NXP B.V., NXP Semiconductors N.V., NXP USA, Inc., Qualcomm Incorporated, Qualcomm Technologies, Inc.

Interested in this case?

Current View

Full Text

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS WACO DIVISION AMERICAN PATENTS LLC,)) Plaintiff,) v.) CIVIL ACTION No. 6:18-CV-339-ADA) MEDIATEK INC., MEDIATEK USA INC.,) JURY TRIAL DEMANDED BROADCOM PTE LTD, BROADCOM) CORPORATION, LENOVO (SHANGHAI)) ELECTRONICS TECHNOLOGY CO. LTD.,) LENOVO GROUP, LTD., NXP) SEMICONDUCTORS N.V., NXP B.V., NXP) USA, INC., QUALCOMM INCORPORATED) and QUALCOMM TECHNOLOGIES, INC.,) Defendants. JOINT MOTION FOR EXTENSION OF TIME FOR PARTIES TO FILE RESPONSIVE CLAIM CONSTRUCTION BRIEFS Plaintiff American Patents LLC and Defendants MediaTek Inc. and MediaTek USA Inc.; Broadcom Pte Ltd and Broadcom Corporation; NXP Semiconductors N.V., NXP B.V., and NXP USA, Inc.; and Qualcomm Incorporated and Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. (collectively, "Defendants") jointly move for an extension of time for the parties to file their Responsive Claim Construction Briefs, which are currently due Wednesday, November 13, 2019. (Dkt. 121). Specifically, the parties respectfully request a brief extension until Monday, November 18, 2019. The parties are in active settlement discussions, and jointly request this additional time to allow the parties to further discuss specific terms in connection with a final agreement to resolve this matter. Dated: November 13, 2019 Respectfully submitted, /s/ Zachariah S. Harrington /s/ Tyler T. VanHoutan Matthew J. Antonelli Tyler T. VanHoutan Texas Bar No. 24068432 Texas Bar No. 24033290 matt@ahtlawfirm.com Eric S. Schlichter Zachariah S. Harrington (lead attorney) Texas Bar No. 24007994 Texas Bar No. 24057886 MCGUIREWOODS LLP zac@ahtlawfirm.com 600 Travis St., Suite 7500 Larry D. Thompson, Jr. Houston, TX 77002 Texas Bar No. 24051428 (713) 571-9191 larry@ahtlawfirm.com (713) 571-9652 (Fax) Christopher Ryan Pinckney tvanhoutan@mcguirewoods.com Texas Bar No. 24067819 eschlichter@mcguirewoods.com ryan@ahtlawfirm.com Rebecca Levinson (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) MCGUIREWOODS LLP ANTONELLI, HARRINGTON 2001 K Street N.W., Suite 400 & THOMPSON LLP Washington, DC 20006 4306 Yoakum Blvd., Ste. 450 (202) 828-2816 Houston, TX 77006 (202) 828-3322 (Fax) (713) 581-3000 rlevinson@mcguirewoods.com Stafford Davis Paige Arnette Amstutz State Bar No. 24054605 Texas Bar No. 00796136 sdavis@stafforddavisfirm.com SCOTT, DOUGLASS & MCCONNICO, LLP Catherine Bartles 303 Colorado St., Suite 2400 Texas Bar No. 24104849 Austin, TX 78701 cbartles@stafforddavisfirm.com (512) 495-6300 THE STAFFORD DAVIS FIRM (512) 495-6399 (Fax) The People's Petroleum Building pamstutz@scottdoug.com 102 North College Avenue, 13th Floor Tyler, Texas 75702 Counsel for MediaTek Inc., MediaTek USA (903) 593-7000 Inc., Broadcom Pte Ltd., Broadcom (903) 705-7369 fax Corporation, NXP Semiconductors N.V., NXP B.V., NXP USA, Inc., Qualcomm Attorneys for American Patents LLC Incorporated and Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. 2 Gilbert A. Greene Jonah D. Mitchell (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Texas Bar No. 24045976 Doyle B. Johnson (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Pierre J. Hubert Osman Mohammed (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Texas Bar No. 24002317 REED SMITH LLP DUANE MORRIS LLP 101 2nd St., Suite 1800 900 S. Capital of Texas Hwy, Suite 300 San Francisco, CA 94105 Austin, TX 78746 (415) 543-8700 (512) 277-2300 (415) 391-8269 (Fax) (512) 277-2301 (Fax) jmitchell@reedsmith.com BGreene@duanemorris.com dbjohnson@reedsmith.com PJHubert@duanemorris.com omohammed@reedsmith.com Kevin Anderson (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) R. Jeffrey Layne DUANE MORRIS, LLP Texas Bar No. 00791083 505 9th St., N.W., Suite 1000 Megan Alter Hudgeons Washington, DC 20004-2166 Texas Bar No. 24001645 (202) 776-7800 REED SMITH LLP kpanderson@duanemorris.com 111 Congress Ave., Suite 400 Austin, TX 78701 Counsel for NXP Semiconductors N.V., (512) 563-1816 NXP B.V., NXP USA, Inc., (512) 623-1802 (Fax) Qualcomm Incorporated and mhudgeons@reedsmith.com Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. jlayne@reedsmith.com Counsel for Qualcomm Incorporated and Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. Eric W. Schweibenz (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) John S. Kern (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Alexander B. Englehart (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Oblon, McClelland, Maier & Neustadt, LLP 1940 Duke Street Alexandria, VA 22314 (703) 413-3000 eschweibenz@oblon.com jkern@oblon.com aenglehart@oblon.com Counsel for MediaTek Inc. and MediaTek USA Inc. 3 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE Pursuant to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and Local Rule CV-5, I hereby certify that all counsel of record who have appeared in this case are being served on this 13th day of November 2019, with a copy of the foregoing via the Court's CM/ECF system. /s/ Paige Arnette Amstutz Paige Arnette Amstutz 4