American Patents LLC v. Mediatek, Inc. et al

Western District of Texas, txwd-6:2018-cv-00339

Joint MOTION for Protective Order by Broadcom Corporation, Broadcom PTE. Ltd., Lenovo (Shanghai) Electronics Technology Co. Ltd., Lenovo Group Ltd., MediaTek USA Inc., MediaTek, Inc., NXP B.V., NXP Semiconductors N.V., NXP USA, Inc., Qualcomm Incorporated, Qualcomm Technologies, Inc.

Interested in this case?

Current View

Full Text

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS WACO DIVISION AMERICAN PATENTS LLC, § § Plaintiff, § v. § CIVIL ACTION No. 6:18-CV-339-ADA § MEDIATEK INC., MEDIATEK USA INC., § JURY TRIAL DEMANDED BROADCOM PTE LTD, BROADCOM § CORPORATION, LENOVO (SHANGHAI) § ELECTRONICS TECHNOLOGY CO. LTD., § LENOVO GROUP, LTD., NXP § SEMICONDUCTORS N.V., NXP B.V., NXP § USA, INC., QUALCOMM INCORPORATED § and QUALCOMM TECHNOLOGIES, INC., § § Defendants. § JOINT MOTION FOR ENTRY OF PROTECTIVE ORDER Pursuant to the Court's Order Regarding Additional Provisions to Proposed Protective Order dated October 9, 2019 (Dkt. No. 163, the "Order"), Plaintiff American Patents LLC and Defendants MediaTek Inc. and MediaTek USA Inc.; Broadcom Pte Ltd and Broadcom Corporation; NXP Semiconductors N.V., NXP B.V., and NXP USA, Inc.; and Qualcomm Incorporated and Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. (collectively, "Defendants") jointly move for entry of the Protective Order attached hereto as Exhibit A. Exhibit A represents the final proposed Protective Order reflecting the Court's guidance contained in the Order. Dated: October 10, 2019 Respectfully submitted, /s/ Larry D. Thompson, Jr. /s/ Tyler T. VanHoutan Matthew J. Antonelli (admission pending) Tyler T. VanHoutan Texas Bar No. 24068432 Texas Bar No. 24033290 matt@ahtlawfirm.com Eric S. Schlichter Zachariah S. Harrington (lead attorney) Texas Bar No. 24007994 Texas Bar No. 24057886 MCGUIREWOODS LLP zac@ahtlawfirm.com 600 Travis St., Suite 7500 Larry D. Thompson, Jr. Houston, TX 77002 Texas Bar No. 24051428 (713) 571-9191 larry@ahtlawfirm.com (713) 571-9652 (Fax) Christopher Ryan Pinckney (admission pending) tvanhoutan@mcguirewoods.com Texas Bar No. 24067819 eschlichter@mcguirewoods.com ryan@ahtlawfirm.com Michael D. Ellis Rebecca Levinson (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Texas Bar No. 24081586 MCGUIREWOODS LLP michael@ahtlawfirm.com 2001 K Street N.W., Suite 400 ANTONELLI, HARRINGTON & Washington, DC 20006 THOMPSON LLP (202) 828-2816 4306 Yoakum Blvd., Ste. 450 (202) 828-3322 (Fax) Houston, TX 77006 rlevinson@mcguirewoods.com (713) 581-3000 Paige Arnette Amstutz Stafford Davis Texas Bar No. 00796136 State Bar No. 24054605 SCOTT, DOUGLASS & MCCONNICO, LLP sdavis@stafforddavisfirm.com 303 Colorado St., Suite 2400 Catherine Bartles Austin, TX 78701 Texas Bar No. 24104849 (512) 495-6300 cbartles@stafforddavisfirm.com (512) 495-6399 (Fax) THE STAFFORD DAVIS FIRM pamstutz@scottdoug.com The People's Petroleum Building 102 North College Avenue, 13th Floor Counsel for MediaTek Inc., MediaTek USA Tyler, Texas 75702 Inc., Broadcom Pte Ltd., Broadcom (903) 593-7000 Corporation, NXP Semiconductors N.V., (903) 705-7369 fax NXP B.V., NXP USA, Inc., Qualcomm Incorporated and Qualcomm Technologies, Attorneys for American Patents LLC Inc. 2 Gilbert A. Greene Jonah D. Mitchell (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Texas Bar No. 24045976 Doyle B. Johnson (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Pierre J. Hubert Osman Mohammed (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Texas Bar No. 24002317 REED SMITH LLP DUANE MORRIS LLP 101 2nd St., Suite 1800 900 S. Capital of Texas Hwy, Suite 300 San Francisco, CA 94105 Austin, TX 78746 (415) 543-8700 (512) 277-2300 (415) 391-8269 (Fax) (512) 277-2301 (Fax) jmitchell@reedsmith.com BGreene@duanemorris.com dbjohnson@reedsmith.com PJHubert@duanemorris.com omohammed@reedsmith.com Kevin Anderson (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) R. Jeffrey Layne DUANE MORRIS, LLP Texas Bar No. 00791083 505 9th St., N.W., Suite 1000 Megan Alter Hudgeons Washington, DC 20004-2166 Texas Bar No. 24001645 (202) 776-7800 REED SMITH LLP kpanderson@duanemorris.com 111 Congress Ave., Suite 400 Austin, TX 78701 Counsel for NXP Semiconductors N.V., (512) 563-1816 NXP B.V., NXP USA, Inc., (512) 623-1802 (Fax) Qualcomm Incorporated and mhudgeons@reedsmith.com Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. jlayne@reedsmith.com Counsel for Qualcomm Incorporated and Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. Eric W. Schweibenz (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) John S. Kern (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Alexander B. Englehart (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) OBLON, MCCLELLAND, MAIER & NEUSTADT, LLP 1940 Duke Street Alexandria, VA 22314 (703) 413-3000 eschweibenz@oblon.com jkern@oblon.com aenglehart@oblon.com Counsel for MediaTek Inc. and MediaTek USA Inc. 3 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE Pursuant to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and Local Rule CV-5, I hereby certify that all counsel of record who have appeared in this case are being served on this 10th day of October 2019, with a copy of the foregoing via the Court's CM/ECF system. /s/ Tyler T. VanHoutan Tyler T. VanHoutan 4