American Patents LLC v. Mediatek, Inc. et al

Western District of Texas, txwd-6:2018-cv-00339

Joint MOTION to Stay Joint Motion to Stay All Deadlines and Notice of Settlement by American Patents LLC.

Interested in this case?

Current View

Full Text

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS WACO DIVISION AMERICAN PATENTS LLC, CIVIL ACTION NO. 6:18-cv-339-ADA Plaintiff, v. JURY TRIAL DEMANDED MEDIATEK INC., et al., Defendants. JOINT MOTION TO STAY ALL DEADLINES AND NOTICE OF SETTLEMENT Defendants MediaTek Inc., MediaTek USA Inc., Broadcom Pte. Ltd., Broadcom Corporation, NXP Semiconductors N.V., NXP B.V., NXP USA, Inc., Qualcomm Incorporated, and Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. (collectively "Defendants"), and Plaintiff American Patents LLC ("American") hereby submit this Joint Motion To Stay All Deadlines and Notice of Settlement and respectfully show the Court as follows: (1) A settlement in principle has been reached resolving all matters in controversy between the parties in the above-referenced action and appropriate settlement papers are being finalized. (2) Accordingly, Defendants and American submit that the Court's resources would best be served by a stay of all unreached deadlines for a period of thirty (30) days so that the announced settlement in principle may be completed and appropriate dismissal papers thereafter filed with the Court. WHEREFORE, Defendants and American request the Court grant this Joint Motion To Stay All Deadlines and Notice of Settlement and enter an Order granting a temporary stay of all upcoming deadlines for a period of thirty (30) days. 1 Dated: November 15, 2019 Respectfully submitted, /s/ Larry D. Thompson, Jr. /s/ Tyler T. VanHoutan Matthew J. Antonelli Tyler T. VanHoutan Texas Bar No. 24068432 Texas Bar No. 24033290 matt@ahtlawfirm.com Eric S. Schlichter Zachariah S. Harrington (lead attorney) Texas Bar No. 24007994 Texas Bar No. 24057886 MCGUIREWOODS LLP zac@ahtlawfirm.com 600 Travis St., Suite 7500 Larry D. Thompson, Jr. Houston, TX 77002 Texas Bar No. 24051428 (713) 571-9191 larry@ahtlawfirm.com (713) 571-9652 (Fax) Christopher Ryan Pinckney tvanhoutan@mcguirewoods.com Texas Bar No. 24067819 eschlichter@mcguirewoods.com ryan@ahtlawfirm.com Rebecca Levinson (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) ANTONELLI, HARRINGTON MCGUIREWOODS LLP & THOMPSON LLP 2001 K Street N.W., Suite 400 4306 Yoakum Blvd., Ste. 450 Washington, DC 20006 Houston, TX 77006 (202) 828-2816 (713) 581-3000 (202) 828-3322 (Fax) rlevinson@mcguirewoods.com Stafford Davis State Bar No. 24054605 Paige Arnette Amstutz sdavis@stafforddavisfirm.com Texas Bar No. 00796136 Catherine Bartles SCOTT, DOUGLASS & MCCONNICO, LLP Texas Bar No. 24104849 303 Colorado St., Suite 2400 cbartles@stafforddavisfirm.com Austin, TX 78701 THE STAFFORD DAVIS FIRM (512) 495-6300 The People's Petroleum Building (512) 495-6399 (Fax) 102 North College Avenue, 13th Floor pamstutz@scottdoug.com Tyler, Texas 75702 (903) 593-7000 Counsel for MediaTek Inc., MediaTek USA (903) 705-7369 fax Inc., Broadcom Pte Ltd., Broadcom Corporation, NXP Semiconductors N.V., Attorneys for American Patents LLC NXP B.V., NXP USA, Inc., Qualcomm Incorporated and Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. 2 Gilbert A. Greene Jonah D. Mitchell (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Texas Bar No. 24045976 Doyle B. Johnson (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Pierre J. Hubert Osman Mohammed (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Texas Bar No. 24002317 REED SMITH LLP DUANE MORRIS LLP 101 2nd St., Suite 1800 900 S. Capital of Texas Hwy, Suite 300 San Francisco, CA 94105 Austin, TX 78746 (415) 543-8700 (512) 277-2300 (415) 391-8269 (Fax) (512) 277-2301 (Fax) jmitchell@reedsmith.com BGreene@duanemorris.com dbjohnson@reedsmith.com PJHubert@duanemorris.com omohammed@reedsmith.com Kevin Anderson (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) R. Jeffrey Layne DUANE MORRIS, LLP Texas Bar No. 00791083 505 9th St., N.W., Suite 1000 Megan Alter Hudgeons Washington, DC 20004-2166 Texas Bar No. 24001645 (202) 776-7800 REED SMITH LLP kpanderson@duanemorris.com 111 Congress Ave., Suite 400 Austin, TX 78701 Counsel for NXP Semiconductors N.V., (512) 563-1816 NXP B.V., NXP USA, Inc., (512) 623-1802 (Fax) Qualcomm Incorporated and mhudgeons@reedsmith.com Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. jlayne@reedsmith.com Counsel for Qualcomm Incorporated and Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. Eric W. Schweibenz (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) John S. Kern (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Alexander B. Englehart (Admitted Pro Hac Vice) Oblon, McClelland, Maier & Neustadt, LLP 1940 Duke Street Alexandria, VA 22314 (703) 413-3000 eschweibenz@oblon.com jkern@oblon.com aenglehart@oblon.com Counsel for MediaTek Inc. and MediaTek USA Inc. 3 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE The undersigned hereby certifies that all counsel of record who are deemed to have consented to electronic service are being served with a copy of this document via the Court's CM/ECF system on November 15, 2019. /s/ Larry D. Thompson, Jr. Larry D. Thompson, Jr. 4