Ixi Mobile (R&D) Ltd. et al v. Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd. et al

Northern District of California, cand-4:2015-cv-03752

Joint MOTION to Suspend Deadlines Pending the Court's Ruling on Plaintiffs' Motion to Dismiss for Lack of Subject Matter Jurisdiction filed by IXI IP,LLC, IXI Mobile (R&D) Ltd., Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd., and Samsung Electronics America Inc. Responses due 12/16/2019. Modified on 12/10/2019 Modified on 12/10/2019

Interested in this case?

Current View

Full Text

1 John V. Picone III, Bar No. 187226 jpicone@hopkinscarley.com 2 Jennifer S. Coleman, Bar No. 213210 3 jcoleman@hopkinscarley.com HOPKINS & CARLEY 4 A Law Corporation The Letitia Building 5 70 South First Street San Jose, CA 95113-2406 6 7 mailing address: P.O. Box 1469 8 San Jose, CA 95109-1469 Telephone: (408) 286-9800 9 Facsimile: (408) 998-4790 10 Attorneys for Plaintiffs 11 IXI MOBILE (R&D) LTD. and IXI IP, LLC 12 Additional counsel in signature block 13 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 14 15 IXI MOBILE (R&D) LTD. et al., CASE NO. 4:15-CV-03752-HSG 16 Plaintiffs, 17 JOINT MOTION FOR ADMINISTRATIVE v. RELIEF TO SUSPEND DEADLINES 18 PENDING THE COURT'S RULING ON 19 SAMSUNG ELECTRONICS CO., LTD., ET AL., PLAINTIFFS' MOTION TO DISMISS FOR LACK OF SUBJECT MATTER 20 Defendants. JURISDICTION 21 Judge: Hon. Haywood S. Gilliam, Jr. 22 23 IXI MOBILE (R&D) LTD. et al., CASE NO. 4:15-CV-03755-HSG 24 Plaintiffs, 25 v. 26 APPLE INC., 27 Defendant. 28 30 Case No. 4:15-CV-03752-HSG 31 JOINT MOTION FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RELIEF TO SUSPEND DEADLINES 1 On December 4, 2019, Plaintiffs IXI Mobile (R&D) Ltd. and IXI IP, LLC (collectively "IXI") 2 granted Defendants Samsung Electronics America, Inc. and Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd. (collectively 3 "Samsung") and Apple, Inc. ("Apple") covenants not to sue on the last remaining claim in this case. IXI 4 will be moving to dismiss the cases for lack of subject matter jurisdiction. The parties anticipate briefing 5 the issue of whether dismissal should be with or without prejudice. Accordingly, the parties respectfully 6 move for administrative relief and request that the Court suspend all deadlines from December 4, 2019 7 and onward until the Court resolves the dismissal of the actions. 8 The Court has the inherent power to manage and control the disposition of causes on its docket. 9 See, e.g., Landis v. North Am. Co., 299 U.S. 248, 254-55 (U.S. 1936) (citations omitted); Dependable 10 Highway Express, Inc. v. Navigators Ins. Co., 498 F.3d 1059, 1066 (9th Cir. 2007); Izor v. Abacus Data 11 Sys., Inc., No. 19-cv-01057-HSG, 2019 WL 3555110 at *3 (N.D. Cal. August 5, 2019). Here, 12 suspending deadlines pending resolution of the dismissal of the actions would best serve judicial 13 economy and conserve the Court's and parties' resources. In particular, such suspending of the deadlines 14 would prevent expenditure of resources on issues that would be mooted by the dismissal of these actions. 15 Therefore, the parties respectfully request that the Court suspend all deadlines from December 4, 16 2019 onward, as set forth by the Court's latest Scheduling Order (Dkt. No. 186). 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Case No. 4:15-CV-03752-HSG 30 JOINT MOTION FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RELIEF TO SUSPEND DEADLINES 31 1 1 Dated: December 10, 2019 By: /s/ Jason D. Cassady John V. Picone III 2 Jennifer S. Coleman HOPLKINS & CARLEY 3 70 South First St. San Jose, CA 95113 4 Telephone: (408) 286-9800 5 Jason D. Cassady (admitted pro hac vice) jcassady@caldwellcc.com 6 Hamad M. Hamad (admitted pro hac vice) 7 hhamad@caldwellcc.com Robert Seth Reich, Jr. (admitted pro hac vice) 8 CALDWELL CASSADY & CURRY P.C. 2101 Cedar Springs Rd. Ste. 1000 9 Dallas, TX 75201 Telephone: (214) 888-4848 10 11 Thomas Biemer (admitted pro hac vice) tbiemer@dilworthlaw.com 12 John J. Higson (admitted pro hac vice) jhigson@dilworthlaw.com 13 DILWORTH PAXSON LLP 1500 Market Street, Ste. 3500(E) 14 Philadelphia, PA 19106 15 Attorneys for Plaintiffs 16 IXI MOBILE (R&D) LTD. and IXI IP, LLC 17 KIRKLAND & ELLIS LLP 18 By: David Rokach 19 Gregory S. Arovas, P.C. (admitted pro hac vice) Todd M. Friedman, P.C. (admitted pro hac vice) 20 KIRKLAND & ELLIS LLP 601 Lexington Avenue 21 New York, New York 10022 Telephone: (212) 446-4800 22 Facsimile: (212) 446-4900 greg.arovas@kirkland.com 23 todd.friedman@kirkland.com 24 David Rokach (admitted pro hac vice) KIRKLAND & ELLIS LLP 25 300 N. LaSalle Chicago, Illinois 60654 26 Telephone: (312) 862-2000 Facsimile: (212) 862-2200 27 david.rokach@kirkland.com 28 Brandon Brown Case No. 4:15-CV-03752-HSG 30 JOINT MOTION FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RELIEF TO SUSPEND DEADLINES 31 2 1 KIRKLAND & ELLIS LLP 555 California Street 2 San Francisco, California 94104 Telephone: (415) 439-1400 3 Facsimile: (415) 439-1500 brandon.brown@kirkland.com 4 Attorneys for Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd. and 5 Samsung Electronics America, Inc. 6 DESMARAIS LLP 7 By: Cosmin Maier 8 John M. Desmarais (SBN 320875) Emily Chen (SBN 302966) 9 DESMARAIS LLP 101 California Street, Suite 3070 10 San Francisco, CA 94111 Telephone: (415) 573-1900 11 Facsimile: (415) 573-1901 12 jdesmarais@desmaraisllp.com echen@desmaraisllp.com 13 Ameet A. Modi (admitted pro hac vice) 14 Cosmin Maier (admitted pro hac vice) Brian Matty (admitted pro hac vice) 15 Franco Silletta (admitted pro hac vice) 16 Joze Welsh (admitted pro hac vice) DESMARAIS LLP 17 230 Park Avenue, Suite 2600 New York, NY 10169 18 Telephone: (212)351-3400 Facsimile: (212) 351-3401 19 amodi@desmaraisllp.com cmaier@desmaraisllp.com 20 bmatty@desmaraisllp.com fsilletta@desmaraisllp.com 21 jwelsh@desmaraisllp.com 22 Attorneys for Apple Inc. 23 24 25 26 27 28 Case No. 4:15-CV-03752-HSG 30 JOINT MOTION FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RELIEF TO SUSPEND DEADLINES 31 3 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE On December 10, 2019, I caused the foregoing document, titled Joint Motion for Administrative Relief to Suspend Deadlines Pending the Court's Ruling on Plaintiffs' Motion to Dismiss for Lack of Subject Matter Jurisdiction, to be lodged with the Court, and served on opposing counsel. /s/ Jason D. Cassady Jason D. Cassady