Pension Trust Fund For Operating Engineers v. DeVry Education Group, Inc. et al

Northern District of Illinois, ilnd-1:2016-cv-05198

MOTION by Plaintiff Utah Retirement Systems for attorney fees /Lead Counsel's Motion for an Award of Attorneys' Fees and Payment of Litigation Expenses

Interested in this case?

Current View

Full Text

Case: 1:16-cv-05198 Document #: 152 Filed: 11/01/19 Page 1 of 6 PageID #:2788 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS EASTERN DIVISION PENSION TRUST FUND FOR OPERATING ENGINEERS, Individually and on Behalf of All Case No. 1:16-CV-05198 Others Similarly Situated, Hon. Mary M. Rowland Plaintiff, v. DEVRY EDUCATION GROUP, INC., DANIEL HAMBURGER, RICHARD M. GUNST, PATRICK J. UNZICKER, AND TIMOTHY J. WIGGINS, Defendants. LEAD COUNSEL'S MOTION FOR AN AWARD OF ATTORNEYS' FEES AND PAYMENT OF LITIGATION EXPENSES Case: 1:16-cv-05198 Document #: 152 Filed: 11/01/19 Page 2 of 6 PageID #:2788 PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that Lead Counsel Labaton Sucharow LLP ("Lead Counsel"), on behalf of itself and all Plaintiffs' Counsel, will move this Court on December 6, 2019 at 9:30 a.m., in Courtroom 1225, for an Order, pursuant to Rules 23(h) and 54 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure: (a) awarding attorneys' fees in the amount of 27% of the Settlement Fund; (b) awarding litigation expenses in the amount of $184,192.69, plus accrued interest; (c) approving Lead Plaintiff's request for payment of its costs and expenses related to its representation of the Settlement Class, pursuant to the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 ("PSLRA"), 15 U.S.C. § 78u-4(a)(4); and (d) for such other and further relief as this Court deems just and proper. Lead Counsel is contemporaneously herewith filing a Memorandum of Law and the Declaration of Carol C. Villegas in Support of (I) Lead Plaintiff's Motion for Approval of Class Action Settlement and Plan of Allocation and (II) Lead Counsel's Motion for an Award of Attorneys' Fees and Payment of Litigation Expenses, dated November 1, 2019, with annexed exhibits, in support of this motion. A proposed order will be submitted on November 27, 2019 with Lead Counsel's reply papers, after the deadline for objecting has passed. Dated: November 1, 2019 By: /s/ Carol C. Villegas LABATON SUCHAROW LLP Carol C. Villegas (pro hac vice) Theodore J. Hawkins (pro hac vice) 140 Broadway New York, NY 10005 Telephone: (212) 907-0700 Facsimile: (212) 818-0477 cvillegas@labaton.com thawkins@labaton.com LABATON SUCHAROW LLP Case: 1:16-cv-05198 Document #: 152 Filed: 11/01/19 Page 3 of 6 PageID #:2788 Mark S. Willis (pro hac vice) 1050 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Suite 500 Washington, D.C. 20036 Telephone: (202) 772-1880 mwillis@labaton.com Lead Counsel for Lead Plaintiff Utah Retirement Systems and the Proposed Settlement Class WEXLER WALLACE LLP Kenneth A. Wexler Mark R. Miller 55 West Monroe, Suite 3300 Chicago, IL 60603 Telephone: (312) 346-2222 kaw@wexlerwallace.com mrm@wexlerwallace.com Liaison Counsel for Lead Plaintiff Utah Retirement Systems 2 Case: 1:16-cv-05198 Document #: 152 Filed: 11/01/19 Page 4 of 6 PageID #:2788 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on November 1, 2019, I electronically filed the foregoing Lead Counsel's Motion for an Award of Attorneys' Fees and Payment of Litigation Expenses, using the Court's CM/ECF system, which will be sent electronically to the registered participants as identified on the attached Electronic Mail Notice List. /s/ Carol C. Villegas Carol C. Villegas Case: 1:16-cv-05198 Document #: 152 Filed: 11/01/19 Page 5 of 6 PageID #:2788 Mailing Information for a Case 1:16-cv-05198 Pension Trust Fund for Operating Engineers v. DeVry Education Group, Inc. et al. Electronic Mail Notice List The following are those who are currently on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case. • Theodore J. Hawkins thawkins@labaton.com,lpina@labaton.com,5957819420@filings.docketbird.com, electr oniccasefiling@labaton.com • William Robert Andrichik wandrichik@steptoe.com,acampos@steptoe.com • Anthony J. Anscombe aanscombe@steptoe.com,snolan@steptoe.com,ikelsch@steptoe.com, mbuckley@steptoe.com,dalt@steptoe.com • Sean M. Berkowitz sean.berkowitz@lw.com,chicago-litigation-services- 9637@ecf.pacerpro.com,chefiling@lw.com,sean-berkowitz-6005@ecf.pacerpro.com • Michael R. Dockterman mdockterman@steptoe.com,meckstein@steptoe.com,jcooper@steptoe.com • Jonathan Gardner jgardner@labaton.com,lpina@labaton.com,4027988420@filings.docketbird.com, fmalon zo@labaton.com,acarpio@labaton.com,electroniccasefiling@labaton.com, agreenbaum@labaton.com • Terance A. Gonsalves Terance.Gonsalves@alston.com,joanne.halvorson@alston.com,dradziwon@steptoe.com, s docket@steptoe.com,ptierney@steptoe.com • Lester R. Hooker lhooker@saxenawhite.com,e-file@saxenawhite.com,cwallace@saxenawhite.com • Philip S. Khinda pkhinda@steptoe.com • Mark Richard Miller mrm@wexlerwallace.com • Patricia B. Palacios ppalacios@steptoe.com • Norman Rifkind Norman@rifslaw.com • Jeffrey Warren Sanford jsanford@steptoe.com,dlukes@steptoe.com • Eric Robert Swibel eric.swibel@lw.com,chicago-litigation-services- 9637@ecf.pacerpro.com,chefiling@lw.com,eric-swibel-5392@ecf.pacerpro.com • Carol C. Villegas cvillegas@labaton.com,lpina@labaton.com,5739893420@filings.docketbird.com, electro niccasefiling@labaton.com Case: 1:16-cv-05198 Document #: 152 Filed: 11/01/19 Page 6 of 6 PageID #:2788 • Kenneth A. Wexler kaw@wexlerwallace.com,ecf@wexlerwallace.com • Mark S. Willis MWillis@labaton.com,kgutierrez@labaton.com,electroniccasefiling@labaton.com • Nicole M. Zeiss nzeiss@labaton.com,5854006420@filings.docketbird.com,lpina@labaton.com, electro niccasefiling@labaton.com,cboria@labaton.com Manual Notice List The following is the list of attorneys who are not on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case (who therefore require manual noticing). (No manual recipients)