Pension Trust Fund For Operating Engineers v. DeVry Education Group, Inc. et al

Northern District of Illinois, ilnd-1:2016-cv-05198

MOTION by Plaintiff Utah Retirement Systems for settlement /Unopposed Motion for Preliminary Approval of Class Action Settlement

Interested in this case?

Current View

Full Text

Case: 1:16-cv-05198 Document #: 144 Filed: 08/30/19 Page 1 of 6 PageID #:2436 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS EASTERN DIVISION PENSION TRUST FUND FOR OPERATING ENGINEERS, Individually and on Behalf of All Case No. 1:16-CV-05198 Others Similarly Situated, Hon. Mary M. Rowland Plaintiff, v. DEVRY EDUCATION GROUP, INC., DANIEL HAMBURGER, RICHARD M. GUNST, PATRICK J. UNZICKER, AND TIMOTHY J. WIGGINS, Defendants. LEAD PLAINTIFF'S UNOPPOSED MOTION FOR PRELIMINARY APPROVAL OF CLASS ACTION SETTLEMENT Case: 1:16-cv-05198 Document #: 144 Filed: 08/30/19 Page 2 of 6 PageID #:2436 PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that Court-appointed Lead Plaintiff Utah Retirement Systems ("URS" or "Lead Plaintiff"), on behalf of itself and all other members of the proposed settlement class, through court-approved Lead Counsel, hereby moves this Court for an Order, pursuant to Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 23(a), (b)(3), and (e): (i) preliminarily approving the proposed settlement of this securities fraud class action (the "Settlement"); (ii) preliminarily certifying the settlement class for purposes of the Settlement only; (iii) approving the form and manner of providing notice of the proposed Settlement to the settlement class; and (iv) scheduling a date for the final settlement hearing. The motion is based on the accompanying Lead Plaintiff's Memorandum of Law in Support of Unopposed Motion for Preliminary Approval of Class Action Settlement and the Declaration of Carol C. Villegas, dated August 30, 2019, with annexed exhibits, including the Stipulation of Settlement, filed herewith. Defendants do not oppose the relief requested in this motion and Lead Plaintiff is not requesting oral argument of the motion. Accordingly, Lead Plaintiff respectfully requests that the Court enter the proposed Order Granting Preliminary Approval of Class Action Settlement, Approving Form and Manner of Notice, and Setting Date for Hearing on Final Approval of Settlement, which was negotiated by the Parties to the Settlement, with annexed exhibits, submitted herewith. Dated: August 30, 2019 Respectfully submitted, By: /s/ Carol C. Villegas LABATON SUCHAROW LLP Carol C. Villegas (pro hac vice) Theodore J. Hawkins (pro hac vice) 140 Broadway New York, NY 10005 Case: 1:16-cv-05198 Document #: 144 Filed: 08/30/19 Page 3 of 6 PageID #:2436 Telephone: (212) 907-0700 Facsimile: (212) 818-0477 cvillegas@labaton.com thawkins@labaton.com LABATON SUCHAROW LLP Mark S. Willis (pro hac vice) 1050 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Suite 500 Washington, D.C. 20036 Telephone: (202) 772-1880 mwillis@labaton.com Lead Counsel for Lead Plaintiff Utah Retirement Systems and the Proposed Settlement Class WEXLER WALLACE LLP Kenneth A. Wexler Mark R. Miller 55 West Monroe, Suite 3300 Chicago, IL 60603 Telephone: (312) 346-2222 kaw@wexlerwallace.com mrm@wexlerwallace.com Liaison Counsel for Lead Plaintiff Utah Retirement Systems -2- Case: 1:16-cv-05198 Document #: 144 Filed: 08/30/19 Page 4 of 6 PageID #:2436 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I certify that on August 30, 2019, I electronically filed the foregoing Lead Plaintiff's Unopposed Motion for Preliminary Approval of Class Action Settlement, using the Court's CM/ECF system, which will be sent electronically to the registered participants as identified on the attached Electronic Mail Notice List. /s/ Carol C. Villegas Carol C. Villegas 1 Case: 1:16-cv-05198 Document #: 144 Filed: 08/30/19 Page 5 of 6 PageID #:2436 Mailing Information for a Case 1:16-cv-05198 Pension Trust Fund for Operating Engineers v. DeVry Education Group, Inc. et al Electronic Mail Notice List The following are those who are currently on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case. • Theodore J. Hawkins thawkins@labaton.com,lpina@labaton.com,5957819420@filings.docketbird.com, electroniccasefiling@labaton.com • William Robert Andrichik wandrichik@steptoe.com,acampos@steptoe.com • Anthony J. Anscombe aanscombe@steptoe.com,snolan@steptoe.com,ikelsch@steptoe.com, mbuckley@steptoe.com,dalt@steptoe.com • Sean M. Berkowitz sean.berkowitz@lw.com,chicago-litigation-services- 9637@ecf.pacerpro.com,chefiling@lw.com,sean-berkowitz-6005@ecf.pacerpro.com • Michael R. Dockterman mdockterman@steptoe.com,meckstein@steptoe.com,jcooper@steptoe.com • Jonathan Gardner jgardner@labaton.com,lpina@labaton.com,4027988420@filings.docketbird.com, fmalonzo@labaton.com,acarpio@labaton.com,electroniccasefiling@labaton.com, agreenbaum@labaton.com • Terance A Gonsalves Terance.Gonsalves@alston.com,joanne.halvorson@alston.com,dradziwon@steptoe.com, sdocket@steptoe.com,ptierney@steptoe.com • Lester R Hooker lhooker@saxenawhite.com,e-file@saxenawhite.com,cwallace@saxenawhite.com • Philip R. Khinda pkhinda@steptoe.com • Mark Richard Miller mrm@wexlerwallace.com • Patricia B. Palacios ppalacios@steptoe.com • Norman Rifkind Norman@rifslaw.com • Jeffrey Warren Sanford jsanford@steptoe.com,dlukes@steptoe.com • Eric Robert Swibel eric.swibel@lw.com,chicago-litigation-services- 9637@ecf.pacerpro.com,chefiling@lw.com,eric-swibel-5392@ecf.pacerpro.com • Carol C. Villegas cvillegas@labaton.com,lpina@labaton.com,5739893420@filings.docketbird.com, electroniccasefiling@labaton.com 2 Case: 1:16-cv-05198 Document #: 144 Filed: 08/30/19 Page 6 of 6 PageID #:2436 • Kenneth A. Wexler kaw@wexlerwallace.com,ecf@wexlerwallace.com • Mark S Willis MWillis@labaton.com,kgutierrez@labaton.com,electroniccasefiling@labaton.com • Nicole M. Zeiss nzeiss@labaton.com,5854006420@filings.docketbird.com,lpina@labaton.com, electroniccasefiling@labaton.com,cboria@labaton.com Manual Notice List The following is the list of attorneys who are not on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case (who therefore require manual noticing).  (No manual recipients) 3