Tech Data Corporation et al v. Hitachi, Ltd. et al

Middle District of Florida, flmd-8:2017-cv-00944

ORDER by Judge Samuel Conti granting (2844) Stipulation in case 3:07-cv-05944-SC extending the deadline to file motion to compel Direct Action Plaintiffs to respond to certain of the Thomson Defendants' discovery requests. (sclc2, COURT STAFF) [Transferred from cand on 4/20/2017.]

Interested in this case?

Current View

Full Text

PageID 2623 1 (Stipulating parties listed on signature page) 2 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 3 NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 4 SAN FRANCISCO DIVISION 5 6 IN RE CATHODE RAY TUBE (CRT) No. 07-cv-5944-SC 7 ANTITRUST LITIGATION, MDL No. 1917 8 This Document Relates to: STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] 9 ORDER EXTENDING THE DEADLINE Electrograph Systems, Inc. et al. v. TO FILE MOTION TO COMPEL 10 Technicolor SA, et al., No. 13-cv-05724; DIRECT ACTION PLAINTIFFS TO RESPOND TO CERTAIN OF THE 11 THOMSON DEFENDANTS' Alfred H. Siegel, as Trustee of the Circuit DISCOVERY REQUESTS 12 City Stores, Inc. Liquidating Trust v. Technicolor SA, et al., No. 13-cv-05261; 13 Judge: Hon. Samuel Conti Best Buy Co., Inc., et al. v. Technicolor SA, 14 et al., No. 13-cv-05264; 15 Interbond Corporation of America v. 16 Technicolor SA, et al., No. 13-cv-05727; 17 Office Depot, Inc. v. Technicolor SA, et al., No. 13-cv-05726; 18 Costco Wholesale Corporation v. 19 Technicolor SA, et al., No. 13-cv-05723; 20 P.C. Richard & Son Long Island 21 Corporation, et al. v. Technicolor SA, et al., No. 31:cv-05725; 22 Schultze Agency Services, LLC, o/b/o 23 Tweeter Opco, LLC, et al. v. Technicolor SA, 24 Ltd., et al., No. 13-cv-05668; 25 Sears, Roebuck and Co. and Kmart Corp. v. Technicolor SA, No. 3:13-cv-05262; 26 Target Corp. v. Technicolor SA, et al., No. 27 13-cv-05686; 28 STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER RE No. 07-5944-SC; MDL No. 1917 EXTENDING THE DEADLINE TO FILE A MOTION TO COMPEL US.54857980.01 PageID 2624 1 Tech Data Corp., et al. v. Hitachi, Ltd., et 2 al., No. 13-cv-00157; 3 Sharp Electronics Corp., et al. v. Hitachi, 4 Ltd., et. al., No. 13-cv-01173. 5 Direct Action Plaintiffs Electrograph Systems, Inc.; Electrograph Technologies, Corp.; 6 Alfred H. Siegel (as trustee of the Circuit City Stores, Inc. Liquidating Trust); Best Buy Co., Inc.; 7 Best Buy Purchasing LLC; Best Buy Enterprise Services, Inc.; Best Buy Stores, L.P.; 8 BestBuy.com, L.L.C.; Magnolia Hi-Fi, Inc.; Interbond Corporation of America; Office Depot, 9 Inc.; Costco Wholesale Corporation; P.C. Richard & Son Long Island Corporation; ABC 10 Appliance, Inc.; MARTA Cooperative of America, Inc.; Schultze Agency Services, LLC, (on 11 behalf of Tweeter Opco, LLC, and Tweeter Newco, LLC); Sears Roebuck and Co. and Kmart 12 Corp.; and Target Corp.; Sharp Electronics Corporation and Sharp Electronics Manufacturing 13 Company of America, Inc., (collectively, "Sharp"); Tech Data Corporation and Tech Data 14 Product Management, Inc.; (all collectively the "DAPs") on the one hand, and Thomson S.A. 15 (n.k.a. Technicolor S.A.) and Thomson Consumer Electronics, Inc. (n.k.a. Technicolor USA, Inc.) 16 (collectively the "Thomson Defendants") on the other (together, the "Parties") have conferred by 17 and through their counsel and, subject to the Court's approval, HEREBY STIPULATE AS 18 FOLLOWS: 19 WHEREAS, on March 21, 2014, the Court entered a scheduling order setting the close of 20 fact discovery for September 5, 2014 (Dkt. No. 2459); 21 WHEREAS, the deadline to file any motion to compel after the discovery cut-off is 22 September 12, 2014 (L.R. 37-3); 23 WHEREAS, on August 1, 2014, the Thomson Defendants served discovery requests on all 24 DAPs, including Thomson SA's Second Set of Requests for Production, seeking, inter alia, 25 documents reflecting both formal and informal communications between the DAPs and others 26 regarding their intention to exclude themselves from the Direct Purchaser Plaintiff Class in this 27 litigation (the "Opt-Out Discovery Request"); 28 STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER RE No. 07-5944-SC; MDL No. 1917 EXTENDING THE DEADLINE TO FILE A MOTION TO COMPEL US.54857980.01 PageID 2625 1 WHEREAS, on or around September 5, 2014, all DAPs served their responses to the Opt- 2 Out Discovery Request, which responses included objections on various grounds; 3 WHEREAS, on September 9, 2014, the Thomson Defendants sent a meet and confer letter 4 to the DAPs regarding issues with their responses and the Parties have since met and conferred in 5 a conference call and in subsequent correspondence with a bona fide intent to continue doing so; 6 WHEREAS, the Thomson Defendants and the DAPs agree to extend the deadline for the 7 Thomson Defendants to file a motion to compel relating to issues specific to the DAPs' responses 8 and objections to the Opt-Out Discovery Request to September 19, 2014; 9 NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY STIPULATED AND AGREED between the 10 undersigned counsel that the Thomson Defendants may file a motion to compel on issues specific 11 to the Opt-Out Discovery Request on or before September 19, 2014. 12 The undersigned parties jointly and respectfully request that the Court enter this stipulation as ISTRIC 13 an order. TES D TC TA O 14 PURSUANT TO STIPULATION, IT IS SO ORDERED. S U ED RT VED UNIT 15 APPRO 16 October 2, 2014 R NIA Dated:___________________ ___________________________________ Hon. Samuel Conti 17 United States DistrictCJudgeti uel on NO g e S a m Jud FO 18 RT LI ER H A 19 C N OF D IS T IC T 20 R 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER RE No. 07-5944-SC; MDL No. 1917 EXTENDING THE DEADLINE TO FILE A MOTION TO COMPEL US.54857980.01 PageID 2626 1 Dated: September 12, 2014 FAEGRE BAKER DANIELS LLP 2 /s/ Kathy L. Osborn 3 4 Kathy L. Osborn (pro hac vice) Ryan M. Hurley (pro hac vice) 5 Faegre Baker Daniels LLP 300 N. Meridian Street, Suite 2700 6 Indianapolis, IN 46204 Telephone: (317) 237-0300 7 Facsimile: (317) 237-1000 kathy.osborn@FaegreBD.com 8 ryan.hurley@FaegreBD.com 9 Jeffrey S. Roberts (pro hac vice) Faegre Baker Daniels LLP 10 3200 Wells Fargo Center 1700 Lincoln Street 11 Denver, CO 80203 Telephone: (303) 607-3500 12 Facsimile: (303) 607-3600 jeff.roberts@FaegreBD.com 13 Stephen M. Judge (pro hac vice) 14 Faegre Baker Daniels LLP 202 S. Michigan Street, Suite 1400 15 South Bend, IN 46601 Telephone: +1 574-234-4149 16 Facsimile: +1 574-239-1900 steve.judge@FaegreBd.com 17 Calvin L. Litsey (SBN 289659) 18 Faegre Baker Daniels LLP 1950 University Avenue, Suite 450 19 East Palo Alto, CA 94303-2279 Telephone: (650) 324-6700 20 Facsimile: (650) 324-6701 calvin.litsey@FaegreBD.com 21 Attorneys for Defendants Thomson SA and Thomson 22 Consumer Electronics, Inc. 23 24 25 26 27 28 STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER RE No. 07-5944-SC; MDL No. 1917 EXTENDING THE DEADLINE TO FILE A MOTION TO COMPEL US.54857980.01 PageID 2627 1 /s/ Philip J. Iovieno 2 Philip J. Iovieno 3 Anne M. Nardacci BOIES, SCHILLER & FLEXNER LLP 4 30 South Pearl St., 11th Floor Albany, NY 12207 5 Telephone: (518) 434-0600 Facsimile: (518) 434-0665 6 piovieno@bsfllp.com anardacci@bsfllp.com 7 William Isaacson 8 Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP 5301 Wisconsin Ave. NW, Suite 800 9 Washington, D.C. 20015 Telephone: (202) 237-2727 10 Facsimile: (202) 237-6131 wisaacson@bsfllp.com 11 Stuart Singer 12 Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP 401 East Las Olas Blvd., Suite 1200 13 Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301 Telephone: (954) 356-0011 14 Facsimile: (954) 356-0022 ssinger@bsfllp.com 15 Liaison Counsel for Direct Action Plaintiffs and 16 Tech Data 17 /s/ Craig Benson 18 Kenneth A. Gallo (pro hac vice) Joseph J. Simons (pro hac vice) 19 Craig A. Benson (pro hac vice) PAUL, WEISS, RIFKIND, WHARTON & 20 GARRISON LLP 2001 K Street, NW 21 Washington, DC 20006 Telephone: (202) 223-7300 22 Facsimile: (202) 223-7420 kgallo@paulweiss.com 23 jsimons@paulweiss.com cbenson@paulweiss.com 24 Stephen E. Taylor (SBN 058452) 25 Jonathan A. Patchen (SBN 237346) Taylor & Company Law Offices, LLP 26 One Ferry Building, Suite 355 San Francisco, California 94111 27 Telephone: (415) 788-8200 Facsimile: (415) 788-8208 28 staylor@paulweiss.com STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER RE No. 07-5944-SC; MDL No. 1917 EXTENDING THE DEADLINE TO FILE A MOTION TO COMPEL US.54857980.01 PageID 2628 1 jpatchen@paulweiss.com 2 Attorneys for Sharp Electronics Corporation and Sharp Electronics Manufacturing Company of 3 America, Inc. 4 /s/ David Martinez 5 Roman M. Silberfeld David Martinez 6 Jill S. Casselman ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. 7 2049 Century Park East, Suite 3400 Los Angeles, CA 90067-3208 8 Telephone: (310) 552-0130 Facsimile: (310) 229-5800 9 Email: rmsilberfeld@rkmc.com dmartinez@rkmc.com 10 jscasselman@rkmc.com Elliot S. Kaplan 11 K. Craig Wildfang Laura E. Nelson 12 ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER & CIRESI L.L.P. 800 LaSalle Avenue 13 2800 LaSalle Plaza Minneapolis, MN 55402 14 Telephone: (612) 349-8500 Facsimile: (612) 339-4181 15 Email: eskaplan@rkmc.com kcwildfang@rkmc.com 16 lenelson@rkmc.com 17 Counsel for Plaintiffs Best Buy Co., Inc., Best Buy Purchasing LLC, Best Buy Enterprise Services, Inc., 18 Best Buy Stores, L.P., BestBuy.com, L.L.C., and Magnolia Hi-Fi, LLC. 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER RE No. 07-5944-SC; MDL No. 1917 EXTENDING THE DEADLINE TO FILE A MOTION TO COMPEL US.54857980.01 PageID 2629 1 /s/ David J. Burman David J. Burman 2 Cori G. Moore Eric J. Weiss 3 Nicholas H. Hesterberg Steven D. Merriman 4 PERKINS COIE LLP 1201 Third Avenue, Suite 4900 5 Seattle, WA 98101-3099 Telephone: (206) 359-8000 6 Facsimile: (206) 359-9000 Email: DBurman@perkinscoie.com 7 CGmoore@perkinscoie.com EWeiss@perkinscoie.com 8 NHesterberg@perkinscoie.com SMerriman@perkinscoie.com 9 Joren S. Bass 10 PERKINS COIE LLP Four Embarcadero Center, Suite 2400 11 San Francisco, CA 94111-4131 Telephone: (415) 344-7120 12 Facsimile: (415) 344-7320 Email: JBass@perkinscoie.com 13 Attorneys for Plaintiff Costco Wholesale 14 Corporation 15 /s/ Scott N. Wagner 16 Robert W. Turken Scott N. Wagner 17 BILZIN SUMBERG BAENA PRICE & AXELROD LLP 18 1450 Brickell Ave, Suite 2300 Miami, FL 33131-3456 19 Telephone: (305) 374-7580 Facsimile: (305) 374-7593 20 Email: rturken@bilzin.com swagner@bilzin.com 21 Stuart Singer 22 BOIES, SCHILLER & FLEXNER LLP 401 East Las Olas Blvd., Suite 1200 23 Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301 Telephone: (954) 356-0011 24 Facsimile: (954) 356-0022 Email: ssinger@bsfllp.com 25 William A. Isaacson 26 BOIES, SCHILLER & FLEXNER LLP 5301 Wisconsin Ave. NW, Suite 800 27 Washington, D.C. 20015 Telephone: (202) 237-2727 28 Facsimile: (202) 237-6131 STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER RE No. 07-5944-SC; MDL No. 1917 EXTENDING THE DEADLINE TO FILE A MOTION TO COMPEL US.54857980.01 PageID 2630 1 Email: wisaacson@bsfllp.com 2 Philip J. Iovieno Anne M. Nardacci 3 BOIES, SCHILLER & FLEXNER LLP 30 South Pearl Street, 11th Floor 4 Albany, NY 12207 Telephone: (518) 434-0600 5 Facsimile: (518) 434-0665 Email: piovieno@bsfllp.com 6 anardacci@bsfllp.com 7 Attorneys for Plaintiffs Tech Data Corporation and Tech Data Product Management 8 /s/ Lee Godfrey 9 H. Lee Godfrey Kenneth S. Marks 10 Jonathan J. Ross Johnny W. Carter 11 David M. Peterson SUSMAN GODFREY L.L.P. 12 1000 Louisiana Street, Suite 5100 Houston, TX 77002 13 Telephone: (713) 651-9366 Facsimile: (713) 654-6666 14 Email: lgodfrey@susmangodfrey.com kmarks@susmangodfrey.com 15 jross@susmangodfrey.com jcarter@susmangodfrey.com 16 dpeterson@susmangodfrey.com 17 Parker C. Folse III Rachel S. Black 18 Jordan Connors SUSMAN GODFREY L.L.P. 19 1201 Third Avenue, Suite 3800 Seattle, WA 98101-3000 20 Telephone: (206) 516-3880 Facsimile: (206) 516-3883 21 Email: pfolse@susmangodfrey.com rblack@susmangodfrey.com 22 jconnors@susmangodfrey.com 23 Counsel for Plaintiff Alfred H. Siegel, solely in his capacity as Trustee of the Circuit City Stores, Inc. 24 Liquidating Trust 25 26 27 28 STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER RE No. 07-5944-SC; MDL No. 1917 EXTENDING THE DEADLINE TO FILE A MOTION TO COMPEL US.54857980.01 PageID 2631 1 /s/ Jason Murray Jason C. Murray 2 CROWELL & MORING LLP 515 South Flower Street, 40th Floor 3 Los Angeles, CA 90071 Telephone: (213) 443-5582 4 Facsimile: (213) 622-2690 Email: jmurray@crowell.com 5 Jerome A. Murphy 6 Astor H.L. Heaven CROWELL & MORING LLP 7 1001 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20004 8 Telephone: (202) 624-2500 Facsimile: (202) 628-5116 9 Email: jmurphy@crowell.com aheaven@crowell.com 10 Counsel for Target Corp.. 11 /s/ Richard Arnold 12 Richard Alan Arnold William J. Blechman 13 Kevin J. Murray KENNY NACHWALTER, P.A. 14 201 S. Biscayne Boulevard, Suite 1100 Miami, FL 33131 15 Telephone: (305) 373-1000 Facsimile: (305) 372-1861 16 Email: rarnold@knpa.com wblechman@knpa.com 17 kmurray@knpa.com 18 Counsel for Plaintiff Sears, Roebuck and Co. and Kmart Corp. 19 20 21 Pursuant to Local Rule 5-1(i), the filer attests that the concurrence in the filing of this 22 document has been obtained from each of the above signatories. 23 24 25 26 27 28 STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER RE No. 07-5944-SC; MDL No. 1917 EXTENDING THE DEADLINE TO FILE A MOTION TO COMPEL US.54857980.01